Archives

2010 Archives

September 25th, 2010

Sighting of the Red Wooden Mask

Red Wooden Mask

The Centre de la Mi-Carême staff received the following photo from a passenger on a flight from Halifax, Canada to Paris, France. The Red Wooden Mask told this person that he is on a quest to eventually get back home to Grand-Étang, Cape Breton.

However, he wants to understand how he ended up on Cape Breton Island in the first place. His journey has begun by flying to France, the homeland of the ancestors of most of the Acadians who live in the Chéticamp region.

August 13, 2010

Jeanne Dugas (1731-1817) meets historian Anne Marie Lane Jonah

Cassie Cahoon in costume as Jeanne Dugas
Cassie Cahoon in costume as Jeanne Dugas

Parks Canada historian Anne Marie Lane Jonah and writer Cassie Cohoon will give a presentation on August 17, 2010 at 7:30pm at the Mi-Carême Centre in Grand-Étang Harbour on the life of Jeanne Dugas.

Jeanne Dugas (1731–1817) was an Acadian woman born at the Fortress of Louisbourg and who was a founder of the village of Chéticamp in the 18th century. She led a fascinating life spending most of it, from when she was 13 until her mid-fifties, moving around the region because of the many wars and conflicts of the 18th century. Jeanne finally settled down with her husband in Cheticamp in 1785.

In this evening presentation, Cassie Cahoon will portray an elderly Jeanne and Anne Marie Lane Jonah will present what she knows of Jeanne’s life and of the Acadians at Louisbourg, setting the scene for a conversation with Jeanne about her life. Jeanne lived through much of our region’s history, from the fall of Louisbourg, the battle of Restigouche and raids by American revolutionary privateers. Come meet Jeanne and learn about the resilience and the survival of the Acadians that founded Cheticamp.

Robert Deveaux
Robert Deveaux

Anne Marie Lane Jonah has worked for years on the history of Cape Breton’s Acadians and how they connect with the story of Louisbourg; she has a particular interest in the story of Jeanne Dugas. Cassie Cohoon, a writer from Montreal and a descendant of Jeanne Dugas, has worked on a fictionalized account of the adventures of Jeanne.

After the presentation, participants enjoyed an evening of song, music and dance accompanied by the Acadian fiddler, Robert Deveaux.

Parks Canada manages a nation-wide network of national historic sites and national parks that make up the rich tapestry of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and which offers visitors the opportunity for real and inspiring discoveries. This year Parks Canada celebrates a very significant Canadian milestone in conservation, education and visitor experience: the 125th anniversary of national parks in Canada.

August 6, 2010

Looking for the Red Wooden Mi-Carême Mask

Red Wooden Mi-Carême Mask

Have you seen the Red Wooden Mi-Carême Mask that was hanging out in Belle Cote, Cape Breton? Perhaps the red wooden mask has become the new gnome of the world? Cape Breton’s red mask has disappeared from Belle Côte. The Mi-Carême Centre staff and their friends are bewildered. Did it run away to visit and discover the world? Has it been kidnapped by someone? Perhaps it has been kidnapped by a lover of masks? Or, by a lover of the Mi-Carême? We need your help in finding the whereabouts of the red wooden mask.

Here is the description of our wandering mask:

Facial Colour: Red

Height and width: 60 cm. tall by 45 cm wide
(two feet tall by 18 inches wide)

Weight: approximately 4.5 kg. (ten pounds)

(although he may have lost weight since his disappearance)

We are waiting to hear about sightings of the red wooden mask. Perhaps someone in your community is harbouring either our run away mask or our kidnapped mask. If so, you can telephone us at 902-224-1016 or email us. In the meantime, you can visit our Mi-Carême Centre. You can see the mask’s family there.

If you are feeling lonely – oh red wooden mask – come home, we love you! Or, if your kidnapper realizes that you are very lonely for your Mi-Carême family - please bring the mask back home to the Mi-Carême Centre (no questions asked).

July 30th, 2010

Launching of Centre de la Mi-Carême’s New Web site

The Mi-Carême Centre launches its new website. Thanks to this virtual world, Internet surfers will be able to discover aspects of the magic fete of the Mi-Carême. Surfers will be able to read a brief history about this old tradition whose roots reach back to medieval Europe. They will find practical information to help plan a visit to the Centre and to enjoy exploring the surrounding Acadian area of Chéticamp and Saint-Joseph-du-Moine.

Website visitors can visit a part of the interactive exhibit that is located at the Mi-Carême Centre that helps understand this medieval custom. Paper mâché masks, wooden masks, clay-like jewellery and hooked rugs that highlight the Mi-Carême theme are examples of artisan products sold at the Mi-Carême Centre’s boutique. Readers will find books about the Mi-Carême as well as on other traditions such as legends and tales. Postcards, art cards and reproductions of paintings are other items that offer souvenirs of a visit to the Centre. A short questionnaire tests your knowledge about Mi-Carême.

Finally, the website gives you the chance to send virtual postcards to friends and family, thus opening doors to the discovery of this ancient custom that is still enjoyed in this corner of Cape-Breton Island, Nova Scotia, Canada. During this festivity disguised revellers go from house to house (called running the Mi-Carême) to see if the watchers of mi-carême can guess their identity. The masked visitors ask their hosts “Do you let the mi-carêmes in your home?”. Upon visiting the new website, it is the Centre’s hope that you will wish to let the mi-carêmes into your imagination.

July 13, 2010

Causerie at the Mi-Carême Centre
Understanding Mi-Carême: The Battle Between Carnival and Lent

On July 13, 2010, the audience gathered at the Mi-Carême Centre entered the magical world of Mi-Carême (which is a mini-Carnival event in the middle of Lent) by voyaging into the painting “Battle Between Carnival and Lent” (1559) by the artist Pieter Bruegel the elder. The presenter, Dr. Barbara Le Blanc, guided the participants through aspects of the symbolic world represented in the painting, and together they explored some of the meanings of many of the 200 images within the scene. They then discovered some of Mi-Carême’s ancient roots, found in fertility festivals of Ancient Rome.

During the evening presentation, the personification of Carnival and Lent come to life as the audience sees the round-bellied fat Carnival figure battle the thin skeleton-like Lent. In the painting, Carnival, wearing bright colours and a meat pie on his head, brandishes a butcher’s knife and rides a beer barrel, pushed by clown-like characters. He confronts Lent, who is sombrely dressed in dark colours with a beehive on its head, and sits upon a chair on a platform with wheels, pulled by a nun and a monk. Carnival’s lance has meat (food par excellence of Carnival) attached to it and Lent’s lance has fish (Lenten food) attached to it. Carnival symbolizes the pleasures of life such as eating and drinking, while Lent symbolises religious penitent life in preparation for Easter. Carnival, on the left of the painting, represents revelry and mockery while Lent on the right represents austerity and penance. The well, source of water and life, located in the centre of the painting, represents and offers equilibrium, between the two extreme behaviours of Carnival and Lent.

Carnival Lent
Details from Battle Between Carnival and Lent (1559) by Pieter Bruegel the elder

These glimpses of the symbols that help one understand the significance of Mid-Lent was then followed by a quick look at festivals of Ancient Rome that influenced later festivities, such as Mi-Carême, in medieval Europe and that were brought by French speaking colonists to Acadie.

Barbara Le Blanc
Barbara Le Blanc

The presenter, ethnologist Barbara Le Blanc, teaches in the Département des sciences de l’éducation at Université Sainte-Anne. She has lived and worked in Europe and North America in a variety of fields such as theatre, teaching and cultural tourism. Her research has focused on topics linked to educational tourism, the use of drama and theatre in learning, as well as Acadian history and culture.

She has written a number of articles on Acadian culture and a children's book, Acadie en fête published by BBC and Longman Publications in Great Britain. Her book Postcards From Acadie: Grand-Pré, Evangeline, and the Acadian Identity, examines the role of an historic site in the construction of a sense of Acadian group identity and belonging.

Her publication Tous ensemble : Guide pour enseigner les danses tradionnelles acadiennes dans les écoles – All Join Hands : A Guide to Teach Traditional Acadian Dances in School is a resource consisting of a manual, a music CD and on VHS (or DVD) to help learn examples of Acadian dances that have been done over the past 400 years.

July 13th, 2010

Première of theatre piece Will you let the mi-carêmes in your home?

On July 13, 2010, the first performance of the ten-minute theatre piece Will you let the mi-carêmes in your home? written and directed by Daniel Castonguay, succeeded in captivating the imaginations of the play’s audience. During the performance, two employees invite the public to discover the Mi-Carême fête.

The two comedians, using a number of masks and costumes, lead the audience into the magic world of this ancient tradition. They also introduce them to historical characters such as Jeanne Dugas and Charles Robin. The personification of Lent arrives on the scene to warn people to do penance during the Lenten fasting period. The two actors present the strong southeast wind, called the “suête” in this Acadian region.

The suête wind in the play “Will you let the mi-carêmes in your home?”
The suête wind in the play Will you let the mi-carêmes in your home?, mask made by Nicolle Chiasson

Then, we meet two characters who are preparing their home for disguised mi-carême visitors. The couple make us realize the hard work that is necessary to open their home to these masked revellers. During this part of the play, music and song entertain the participants. Finally, the two actors invite us to dance and join in the fun of the festivity.

Will you let the mi-carêmes in your home?
Two characters preparing their home for disguised mi-carême visitors

Writer and director of the play, Daniel Castonguay, studied theatre arts at the Université de Moncton as well as at the National Theatre School of Canada. For eight years, he worked as artistic director at the Pays de la Sagouine in Bouctouche, New Brunswick, where he wrote and directed thirty-some theatre pieces inspired by the imaginary world of Antonine Maillet’s famous works. Since leaving the Pays de la Sagouine, Daniel Castonguay has worked on several writing and directing projects.

Daniel Castonguay
Daniel Castonguay

The play Daily Life at Grand-Pré, was commissioned by the Société Promotion Grand-Pré for Grand-Pré National Historic Site. The play, inspired by the ancient troubadour tradition, highlights everyday life of the eighteenth century Grand-Pré settlement in a humoristic way.

He also has worked on projects for the Theatre of the Escaouette and the Festival of Miramichi. In July 2010, he became the president of the Cultural Society of South-Kent in New Brunswick.

Archives

Archives 2010

Le 25 septembre 2010

Nouvelles au sujet du masque rouge en bois

Red Wooden Mask

Le personnel du Centre de la Mi-Carême a reçu la photo suivante d'un passager qui était sur un vol en partance de la ville de Halifax au Canada à Paris en France. Il a rencontré le masque rouge qui lui a dit qu'il veut éventuellement retourner à Grand-Étang au Cap-Breton.

Cependant, avant de retourner chez-lui, il veut comprendre pourquoi il a fini sur l'île du Cap-Breton. Il a décidé que la réponse pourrait peut-être se trouver en France, terre des ancêtres de la majorité des Acadiens qui vivent dans la région acadienne de Chéticamp.

Le 13 août 2010

Jeanne Dugas (1731–1817) rencontre l'historienne Anne Marie Lane Jonah

Anne Marie Lane Jonah, historienne de Parcs Canada, et Cassie Cohoon, écrivaine, donneront une présentation sur la vie de Jeanne Dugas le 17 août 2010 à 19 h 30, au Centre de la Mi-Carême, à Grand-Étang.

L’Acadienne Jeanne Dugas (1731–1817) est née à la forteresse de Louisbourg et a participé à la fondation du village de Chéticamp au 18e siècle. Son histoire est fascinante. Elle a passé la majeure partie de sa vie, de l’âge de 13 ans jusqu’au milieu de la cinquantaine, à déménager d’un endroit à l’autre de la région en raison des nombreux conflits et guerres qui sévissaient au 18e siècle. Jeanne s’est finalement établie avec son époux à Chéticamp en 1785.

Cassie Cahoon qui représente Jeanne Dugas
Cassie Cahoon qui représente Jeanne Dugas

Durant cette présentation en soirée, Cassie Cahoon incarnera Jeanne durant sa vieillesse, et Anne Marie Lane Jonah parlera de la vie de Jeanne et des Acadiens à Louisbourg, présentant ainsi le contexte pour une conversation avec Jeanne au sujet de sa vie. Jeanne Dugas a vécu durant bon nombre des grands moments de l’histoire de notre région, de la chute de Louisbourg à la bataille de la Ristigouche, en passant par les raids des corsaires américains. Venez rencontrer Jeanne et découvrez la résilience et l’instinct de survie des Acadiens qui ont fondé Chéticamp.

Anne Marie Lane Jonah a étudié pendant des années l’histoire des Acadiens du Cap-Breton et leurs liens avec Louisbourg. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement à l’histoire de Jeanne Dugas. Cassie Cohoon, écrivaine de Montréal et descendante de Jeanne Dugas, a travaillé sur un récit fictif qui relate les aventures de Jeanne.

Parcs Canada gère un réseau pancanadien de parcs nationaux et de lieux historiques nationaux qui forment la riche mosaïque du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada et offrent aux visiteurs la possibilité de vivre des expériences authentiques et inspirantes. Parcs Canada célèbre cette année un jalon très important en matière de conservation, d’éducation et d’expérience du visiteur, soit le 125e anniversaire des parcs nationaux au Canada.

Le 6 août 2010

À la recherche d’un masque perdu du Centre de la Mi-Carême

Avez-vous vu le masque rouge fait en bois qui vivait à Belle Côte au Cap-Breton depuis quelques mois ? Peut être le masque a-t’il voulu aller découvrir le monde comme le très renommé gnome ? Peut être il a été kidnappé par quelqu’un? Peut être un amateur de masques l’a pris? Peut être un amateur de la mi-carême? Nous avons besoin de votre aide.

Voici la description du masque :

Couleur de son visage : rouge

Taille : 60 cm par 45 cm. (2 pieds par 18 pouces)

Poids : 4.5 kg. (Dix livres)
(Peut être il a perdu du poids depuis son départ)

Si vous avez des nouvelles au sujet du masque perdu, vous pouvez soit nous téléphoner au 902-224-1016 ou soit nous envoyer un message électronique. Vous pouvez même nous envoyez une photo de sa nouvelle demeure.

Cher masque rouge, si vous êtes triste et vous vous ennuyez, venez chez-vous. Nous vous aimons. Ou, si votre ravisseur réalise que vous êtes triste et que vous voulez revenir chez vous, votre famille de mi-carêmes vous attend à bras ouverts. Vous pouvez ramener notre cher masque rouge au centre de la Mi-Carême (pas de questions demandées).

Le 21 juillet 2010

Communiqué de presse
Lancement du nouveau site web du Centre de la Mi-Carême

Le Centre de la Mi-Carême lance un nouveau site web aux internautes sur l’Internet. Grâce à ce monde virtuel, vous pouvez venir découvrir des aspects de la magie de la fête de la mi-carême. Vous pouvez lire un bref historique de cette tradition ancienne qui trouve ses racines au Moyen Âge en Europe. De plus, le site web offre des informations pratiques afin de vous aider à planifier votre visite au Centre de la Mi-Carême ainsi qu’à explorer la région acadienne de Chéticamp et de Saint-Joseph-du-Moine.

Vous pouvez voir une partie de l’exposition interactive qui se trouve au Centre et qui nous aide à comprendre cette tradition. Les masques en papier mâché et en bois, les bijoux en pâte à modeler et les tapis hookés qui mettent en valeur le thème de la mi-carême sont des exemples de produits artisanaux de la région qui se trouvent dans la boutique du site web. Les mordus de la lecture peuvent acheter des livres sur la mi-carême et sur d’autres sujets qui portent sur des traditions acadiennes tels que des légendes et des contes. Des cartes postales, des cartes artistiques et des reproductions d’œuvre d’art sont en vente également. Un petit questionnaire au sujet de la mi-carême met à l’épreuve vos connaissances.

Enfin, le site web vous donne la possibilité d’envoyer des cartes postales virtuelles à vos amis, ainsi leur ouvrant la porte sur la découverte d’une coutume qui est toujours pratiquée dans ce coin du Cap-Breton en Nouvelle-Écosse au Canada. Et, comme les visiteurs masqués disent ici « Laissez-vous entrer les mi-carêmes ? », ce site va vous séduire et vous allez certainement vouloir laisser entrer les mi-carêmes dans votre imagination grâce à ce nouveau site web du Centre de la Mi-Carême.

Le 13 juillet 2010

Causerie au Centre de la Mi-Carême
La fête de la Mi-Carême : Un combat entre le Carnaval et le Carême

Le 13 juillet, le public au Centre de la Mi-Carême a été transporté dans la peinture « Combat entre le Carnaval et le Carême » de Pieter Bruegel. L’ethnologue Barbara Le Blanc a invité les participants à explorer des symboles qui se trouvent dans la peinture et ainsi comprendre mieux la raison d’être de la fête de la mi-carême. De plus, elle a touché brièvement sur les origines de ce genre de fête qui se trouvaient dans des festivals de fertilité des anciens Romains.

Pendant la soirée, Madame Le Blanc a présenté la personnification du Carnaval et du Carême qu’on retrouve dans la peinture. Le Carnaval, habillé de vêtements aux couleurs brillantes, est un homme obèse armé d’une lance sur laquelle est enfilée de la viande. Il porte un couteau qui est attribué aux bouchers. Son char est un tonneau poussé par des personnages aux vêtements colorés et aux chapeaux pointus. Le Carnaval représente une période joyeuse et turbulente. En contrepartie, le personnage de Carême est une figure beaucoup plus austère. Il est maigre à cause de ses privations alimentaires et autres mortifications. Ses vêtements sont de couleurs plus pâles et il porte une ruche sur la tête. Sa lance est une longue palette sur laquelle il y a des poissons. Le Carême est assis sur une chaise transportée sur une planche rouge à roulettes, qui est tirée par un moine et une soeur de couvent. Ce personnage représente une vie plus sévère qui se prépare pour la fête de Pâques.

Carnaval Carême
Détails de la peinture Un combat entre le Carnaval et le Carême (1559) de Pieter Bruegal, le vieux

Ces clins d’oeil sur des symboles qui nous aident à mieux comprendre la signification de la mi-carême ont été suivis par un regard sur d’anciens festivals qui ont influencé des fêtes au Moyen Âge et qui ont traversé l’Océan Atlantique avec les premiers colons français en Acadie.

Barbara Le Blanc
Barbara Le Blanc

La présentatrice, Barbara Le Blanc est professeur au Département des sciences de l'éducation à Université Sainte-Anne. Originaire du Cap-Breton, ses intérêts nombreux l'ont amenée à voyager et à travailler en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, plus particulièrement dans les secteurs du théâtre, de l’éducation et du tourisme culturel. Ses recherches touchent de nombreux domaines : l’Acadie, l’utilisation du jeu dramatique dans l’enseignement et l’apprentissage, les musées et l’éducation, et le tourisme culturel et éducatif.

Elle a écrit plusieurs articles sur la culture et l’histoire acadiennes. Son livret pour enfants Acadie en fête, publié par la BBC et Longman, est utilisé dans les écoles de Grande-Bretagne.

Son livre Postcards From Acadie : Grand-Pré, Evangeline and the Acadian Identity, publié par Gaspereau Press, examine le rôle d’un lieu historique dans la construction d’un sentiment d’appartenance chez le peuple acadien. L’ouvrage Tous ensemble : Guide pour enseignement des danses traditionnelles acadiennes dans les écoles est une ressource composée d’un guide pour l’enseignant, un CD de musique et une vidéocassette (DVD).

Le 13 juillet 2010

Première de la pièce de théâtre « Laissez-vous entrer les mi-carêmes? » de l’écrivain et du metteur en scène Daniel Castonguay.

Le 13 juillet 2010, la première du spectacle « Laissez-vous entrer les mi-carêmes ? », écrit et dirigé par le directeur artistique Daniel Castonguay, a réussi à capter l’imagination des visiteurs au Centre de la Mi-Carême. Dans sa pièce « Laissez-vous entrer les mi-carêmes ? », deux employés du centre invitent le public à découvrir la fête de la mi-carême.

Les deux comédiens changent de masques et de costumes et conduisent les personnes dans le monde magique de cette fête. De plus, ils présentent des personnages historiques comme Jeanne Dugas et Charles Robin. La personnification du carême arrive sur scène pour dire que nous devons faire des pénitences lors du carême. Les deux comédiens nous présentent aussi des phénomènes météorologiques comme le vent du sud-est, appelé le « suête » dans cette région acadienne du Cap-Breton.

Le suête dans la pièce « Laissez-vous rentrez les mi-carêmes? »
Le suête dans la pièce Laissez-vous rentrez les mi-carêmes?, masque fabriqué par Nicolle Chiasson

Puis, nous rencontrons deux personnages qui laissent rentrer les mi-carêmes dans leur maison, découvrant le travail de préparation pour accueillir ces visiteurs masqués. La musique et la chanson de la mi-carême viennent divertir le public. Enfin, nous sommes invités à danser et à célébrer avec les deux comédiens.

« Laissez-vous rentrez les mi-carêmes? »
Laissez-vous rentrez les mi-carêmes?

Daniel Castonguay a fait un baccalauréat spécialisé en art dramatique à l’Université de Moncton et a fait des études en scénographie à l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada. Dans sa carrière, l’auteur et metteur en scène de la pièce a signé les mises en scène de plus d’une trentaine de pièces de théâtre autour de l’univers d’Antonine Maillet pour Le pays de la Sagouine, à Bouctouche. Dans ce site, il a travaillé comme directeur artistique pendant huit ans.

Daniel Castonguay
Daniel Castonguay

Depuis son départ du Pays de la Sagouine, il a travaillé sur plusieurs projets d’écriture et de mise en scène, entre autres, la pièce de théâtre « La p’tite vie d’autrefois à Grand-Pré », pour le Lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré, commandité par la Société Promotion Grand-Pré. Cette pièce est inspirée par l’ancienne tradition des troubadours et fait revivre avec humour les débuts du village de Grand-Pré.

De plus, il a participé à des projets avec le théâtre de l’Escaouette et le festival de Miramichi. Dernièrement, en juillet 2010, il est devenu le président de la Société Culturelle Kent-Sud.